At Sporting Systems, we adhere to safety best practices and comply 100% with all State and Federal laws regarding firearm sale and use. Consult the following for answers to the questions we encounter most often:
Because we want you to relax and enjoy your visit. Hospitality and service is what we sell, the firearms sell themselves.
Yes. We will process private party transfers. We will also accept shipment from online retailers. However, please contact us PRIOR to shipping those items, we must have an incoming record and provide a copy of our FFL to the seller. We can also ship items for the same $50 transfer fee plus the actual cost of shipping.
We no longer do private party semi-automatic rifle transfers to/from Non Washington Residents.
Visit our Transfers page to watch a short tutorial video and get started with your transfer.
We charge $50 for online transfers, private parties, and transfers from gun shows. Each additional firearm is $40 each. NFA transfers are $125 each.
Any items left over 90 days will be declared abandoned, sold and the buyer relinquishes all claims to the property..
Any item received without a completed transfer form application will be assessed a $75 transfer fee (NFA $150). Clients must provide advance notice via the firearm transfer form or completing the form on this page; click on the link below
Note: Most online distributors won’t fill out the transfer form and it may be on the buyer to do so.
We don’t really. Consider what’s included: credit card fees, faxing, emailing, filing pistol transfers, maintaining records, ATF audits, printing, mailing documents, phone calls, tracking numbers, liability insurance, medical insurance, B&O taxes, L&I taxes, Federal taxes, labor, utilities, building maintenance, software licensing, security, data entry, receiving, storage, and a coffee or beverage while you wait for the approval. You’re really getting a great deal.
You are NOT charged on private party transfers. However, on any transfer from a commercial operation, we are required to collect 7.7% sales tax(as of 2019). Please bring a copy of your invoice with you when you pick up your firearm.
Yes, we purchase handguns, if they are in excellent condition and match the type of product we have in the store.
Due to new firearm laws and storage, long guns are not accepted on trade.
We do not offer consignments, but we will buy quality firearms in good condition. Email us a list of what you have, including make, model, caliber and include a photo if possible.
Yes, we do. There are some limitations based on the firearms and sights required. There is no charge for guns and sights purchased here. We will mount our sights on your gun for $20. We will mount your sights on your existing gun for $35. Overnight stay is required.
We do armorers’-level work on pistols and rifles. Our shop labor rate is $75 per hour.
Yes, we are. Proof of service/employment is required at the time of purchase. We have many models in stock and can order any models that are not in store.
Yes, and they are a lot of fun, too. Reducing noise is both polite to those nearby, as well as good for your safety by reducing potential damage to your hearing. It is legal to hunt with a suppressor in many states, including Washington.
Approx 10-14 months if filing through trust and 3-6 months if filing as an individual. Appointments are necessary due to fingerprints and pictures. You can check the status with the BATFE if you have your serial number.
Yes, but we have to deliver through your home state class 3 FFL. We have an Oregon FFL to facilitate this.
a shotgun having a barrel or barrels of less than 18 inches in length;
a weapon made from a shotgun if such weapon as modified has an overall length of less than 26 inches or a barrel or barrels of less than 18 inches in length;
a rifle having a barrel or barrels of less than 16 inches in length;
a weapon made from a rifle if such weapon as modified has an overall length of less than 26 inches or a barrel or barrels of less than 16 inches in length;
any other weapon, as define in subsection (e);
any silencer (as defined in section 921 of title 18, United States Code); and
a destructive device.
Yes. The approved application received from ATF serves as evidence of registration of the NFA firearm. This document must be made available upon request of any ATF officer. It is suggested that a photocopy of the approved application be carried by the possessor when the weapon is being transported.
No. The NFA permits only manufacturers, makers, importers, and certain governmental entities to register firearms.
Yes, unless the barrel of the pistol is at least 16 inches in length (and the overall length of the firearm with stock attached is at least 26 inches). However, certain stocked handguns, such as original semiautomatic Mauser “Broomhandles” and Lugers, have been removed from the purview of the NFA as collectors’ items.
Yes, and you will not be required to again register the firearm before replacing the short barrel. ATF recommends written notification to the NFA Branch when a firearm’s configuration is permanently changed or removed from the purview of the NFA.
Generally, no. However, applications to make and register machine guns on or after May 19, 1986 for the benefit of a Federal, State, or local government entity will be approved if documentation can be provided, along with the application to make a machinegun, which establishes that the machine gun is particularly suitable for use by Federal, State or local governmental entities and is being made at the request and on behalf of such an entity.
Yes. If the machinegun was lawfully registered and possessed before May 19, 1986, it may be transferred pursuant to an approved ATF Form 3 or Form 4, as applicable. Local laws will still apply. Currently it is still illegal in Washington, but legal in Oregon.
The FBI no longer allows courtesy NICS check for handguns to WA residents.
All pistol transfer applications are sent to local law enforcement for approval. This can take 10-30 days. If you are purchasing an SAR(Semi-automatic Rifle) it will also go to a local law enforcement for approval with a mandatory 10 business day wait period per I-1639.
Lower receivers, shotguns, bolt action rifles, and all other firearms are still run through the NICS system. In most cases, you can take home the same day if approved.
No, only the original signer of the paperwork can take possession of the firearm.
A UPIN is a unique personal identification number, issued by the FBI, if you are frequently delayed or denied access to firearms and wish to appeal the FBI decision. The process takes about 6 months to complete. For more information about UPINs, click here.
Only those firearms subject to the National Firearms Act (NFA) (e.g., machineguns, short–barreled rifles and shotguns, silencers, destructive devices, and firearms designated as “any other weapons”) must be registered with ATF.
Firearms registration may be required by State or local law. Any person considering acquiring a firearm should contact his or her State Attorney General’s Office to inquire about the laws and possible State or local restrictions.
The definition of misdemeanor crime of domestic violence in the Gun Control Act (GCA) includes any offense classified as a “misdemeanor” under Federal, State or Tribal law. In States that do not classify offenses as misdemeanors, the definition includes any State or local offense punishable by imprisonment for a term of 1 year or less or punishable by a fine.
Yes. In such transactions, the law enforcement official is treated no differently from any other unlicensed transferee, and a NICS background check must be conducted.
Firearm transfers are exempt from the requirement for a NICS background check in three situations. These include transfers: (1) to transferees having a State permit that has been recognized by ATF as an alternative to a NICS check; (2) of National Firearms Act weapons to persons approved by ATF; and (3) certified by ATF as exempt because compliance with the NICS background check requirement is impracticable.
In Washington, you may transfer a firearm to an immediate family member within Washington, without a background check. All other transfers or sales require a background check, (i-594, November 2014).
The licensee should inform the transferee that the NICS check indicates that the transfer of the firearm should not be made, however the system does not provide a reason for the denial. The licensee should provide the transferee with the name and address of the denying agency and the NICS or State transaction number, and an appeals brochure created by the FBI or State POC outlining the transferee’s appeal rights and responsibilities. An FBI appeal brochure is available through the FBI NICS section, or at www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/nics/appeals/nics-appeals-process/appeals-home.
A NICS check is valid for 30 calendar days for any transaction. The 30 calendar day period is counted beginning on the day after NICS was initially contacted. Where more than 30 calendar days have passed since the licensee first contacted NICS, the licensee must initiate a new NICS check prior to transferring the firearm. It is not necessary to complete a new ATF Form 4473, but the results of the new NICS background check must be recorded on the form.
Example1: A NICS check is initiated on May 15th. The licensee receives a “proceed” from NICS. The transferee does not return to pick up the firearm until June 22nd of the same year. The licensee must conduct another NICS check before transferring the firearm to the transferee.
Example 2: A NICS check is initiated on May 15th. The licensee receives a “delayed” response from NICS; no further response is received. The transferee does not return to pick up the firearm until June 16th of the same year. The licensee must conduct another NICS check before transferring the firearm to the transferee.
No. A licensee must initiate a new NICS background check for each completed firearms transaction. However, a person may purchase or acquire several firearms in one transaction.
[27 CFR 478.102]
Example: A transferee completes an ATF Form 4473 for a single firearm on February 15. The licensee receives a “proceed” from NICS that day. The licensee signs the form, and the firearm is transferred. On February 20, the transferee returns to the licensee’s premises and wishes to acquire a second firearm. The acquisition of the second firearm is a separate transaction. Therefore, a new NICS check must be initiated by the licensee.
Example: A transferee completes ATF Form 4473 for a single firearm on February 15. The licensee receives a “proceed” from NICS that day. The transferee does not return to pick up the firearm until February 20. Before the licensee completes the transfer of the first firearm, the transferee decides to acquire an additional firearm. The second firearm may be recorded on the same Form 4473. The acquisition of the 2 firearms is considered a single transaction. Therefore, the licensee is not required to conduct a new NICS check prior to transferring the second firearm.
The licensee must initiate another NICS check before the firearm may be transferred.
Yes. Compliance with Federal background check provisions does not excuse a licensee from compliance with State law. A licensee must follow State law waiting periods.
Example: State X is acting as a point of contact for NICS checks. State law requires the licensee to wait 10 days, rather than 3 days, for a response to the background check prior to transferring a firearm. Because State law provides a 10 day period before a licensee may transfer a firearm, the licensee may not transfer the firearm until 10 days have elapsed since conducting the background check.
Example: State X is acting as a point of contact for NICS checks. State law allows a licensee to transfer a firearm 24 hours after conducting a NICS check and receiving a “delayed” response. Although State law would permit a licensee to transfer a firearm 24 hours after receiving a “delayed” response, the licensee must comply with Federal law which requires the licensee wait 3 business days prior to transferring a firearm where the licensee has not received notice the transfer would be prohibited.
Example: The law of State X provides for a 5 day waiting period before a handgun may be transferred by a licensee. An individual completes an ATF Form 4473 for the purchase of a handgun, a NICS check is conducted, and a “proceed” response is given by NICS. Although the licensee received a “proceed” response, the licensee must comply with the State waiting period, and the licensee may not transfer the firearm until the State 5 day waiting period has elapsed.
No. This information is solicited on an optional basis. However, providing this information will help ensure the lawfulness of the sale and avoid the possibility that the transferee will be incorrectly identified as a felon or other prohibited person.
The identification document presented by the transferee must have a photograph of the transferee, as well as the transferee’s name, residence address, and date of birth. The identification document must also be valid (e.g., unexpired) and have been issued by a governmental entity for the purpose of identification of individuals. An example of an acceptable identification document is a current driver’s license.
A combination of government issued documents may be used to meet the requirements of an identification document. For example, a passport which contains the name, date of birth, and photograph of the holder may be combined with a voter or vehicle registration card containing the residence address of the transferee in order to comply with the identification document requirements. A passport issued by a foreign government is also acceptable so long as it has all of the required information.
Whether a hunting license or permit issued by a retailer meets the definition of an identification document is State law specific. This license or permit meets the definition of an identification document if the State in which the retailer is located has authorized the retailer to supply State issued documents. If the State recognizes the hunting license or permit as government issued, then this license or permit would qualify as being government issued for the purposes of supplementing another government issued identification document.
A description of the location of the residence on an identification document, such as a rural route, is sufficient to constitute a residence address provided the purchaser resides in a State or locality where it is considered to be a legal residence address.
For more information, check out our FFL Transfers page, here.
18 years old for bolt action rifles, shotgun, and rifle ammo. 21 years old for handguns, SAR(Semi-Auto Rifles), suppressors, SBRs, long guns, ammo, and lower receivers.
Yes, if he or she is an immediate, legal family member (aunt, uncle, brother, grandkid, wife, son).
Yes, however, your friend must submit to the background check and pistol transfer form. You cannot transfer a firearm to anyone, other than a licensed firearm dealer, law enforcement officer, or immediate family member, under Washington law.
Yes. All non–U.S. citizens need an alien number or admission number to purchase a firearm from a Federal firearms licensee (FFL). A FFL cannot complete the sale without an alien or admission number. This is the case even if you have a State permit that ATF has determined qualifies as a “NICS alternative” and therefore do not need to have a NICS background check.
Yes, provided the buyer is 18 years of age or older, and the licensee is satisfied that the ammunition is for use in a rifle. If the ammunition is intended for use in a handgun, the buyer must be at least 21 years of age.
No. A frame or receiver is a type of firearm “other than a shotgun or rifle” and the transfer by a licensee to an individual less than 21 years of age would be prohibited.
Generally, a firearm may not lawfully be sold by a licensee to a nonlicensee who resides in a State other than the State in which the seller’s licensed premises is located. However, the sale may be made if the firearm is shipped to a licensee whose business is in the purchaser’s State of residence and the purchaser takes delivery of the firearm from the licensee in his or her State of residence. In addition, a licensee may sell a rifle or shotgun to a person who is not a resident of the State where the licensee’s business premises is located in an over–the–counter transaction, provided the transaction complies with State law in the State where the licensee is located and in the State where the purchaser resides.
An unlicensed person who is not prohibited from receiving or possessing firearms may purchase a firearm from an out–of–State source, provided the transfer takes place through a Federal firearms licensee in his or her State of residence.
Yes. However, persons less than 18 years of age may only receive and possess handguns with the written permission of a parent or guardian for limited purposes, e.g., employment, ranching, farming, target practice or hunting.
Depending on how the organization arranges for the firearms to be transferred to the raffle winner, the licensee’s participation may vary.
Example 1: A licensee transfers a firearm to the organization sponsoring the raffle. The representative acting on behalf of the organization must complete the ATF Form 4473 and undergo a NICS background check. When the buyer of a firearm is a corporation, association, or other organization, an officer or other representative authorized to act on behalf of the organization must complete the form with his or her personal information and attach a written statement, executed under penalties of perjury, stating that the firearm is being acquired for the use of the organization and the name and address of the organization. Once the firearm had been transferred to the organization, the organization can subsequently transfer the firearm to the raffle winner without an ATF Form 4473 being completed or a NICS check being conducted. This is because the organization is not a licensee. However, the organization cannot transfer the firearm to a person who is not a resident of the organization’s State of residence nor can the organization knowingly transfer the firearm to a prohibited person.
Example 2: The licensee or a representative of the licensee brings a firearm to the raffle so that the firearm can be displayed. After the raffle, the firearm is returned to the licensee’s premises. The licensee must complete an ATF Form 4473 and conduct a NICS background check prior to transferring the firearm to the winner of the raffle. If the firearm is a handgun, the winner of the raffle must be a resident of the State where the transfer takes place, or the firearm must be transferred through another licensee in the winner’s State of residence. If the firearm is a rifle or shotgun, the licensee can lawfully transfer the firearm to the winner of the raffle as long as the transaction is over–the–counter and complies with the laws applicable at the place of sale and the State where the transferee resides.
Example 3: If the raffle meets the definition of a qualifying event, the licensee may conduct business at that event.
Please note, if the organization’s practice of raffling firearms rises to the level of being engaged in the business of dealing in firearms, the organization must get its own Federal firearms license.
Yes, we encourage it. Use our workbench, use our tools, ask for our guidance. We are here to help, but please respect our time constraints during the business hours, as well as our posted closing time, as we have other clients to assist and families to go home to. If you’d like dedicated assistance, please book a private builders session.
A Washington resident, who is at least 21 years old. We can also transfer them through a dealer in your home state.
Barrel, trigger, optics. A barrel makes the gun accurate. A trigger helps make you more accurate. The optics let you see what you want to hit, so the trigger and barrel can do their jobs.
No, a license is not required to make a firearm solely for personal use. However, a license is required to manufacture firearms for sale or distribution. The law prohibits a person from assembling a non–sporting semiautomatic rifle or shotgun from 10 or more imported parts, as well as firearms that cannot be detected by metal detectors or x–ray machines. In addition, the making of an NFA firearm requires a tax payment and advance approval by ATF.
Yes, in some cases, items being marketed as unfinished or “80%” receivers do meet the definition of a “firearm” as defined in the GCA. Persons who are unsure about whether an item they are planning to buy or sell is considered a firearm under the GCA should contact ATF’s Firearms and Ammunition Technology Division (FATD).
“80% receiver,” “80% finished,” “80% complete,” “unfinished receiver” are all terms referring to an item that some may believe has not yet reached a stage of manufacture that meets the definition of firearm frame or receiver found in the Gun Control Act of 1968 (GCA). These are not statutory terms or terms ATF employs or endorses.
Receiver blanks that do not meet the definition of a “firearm” are not subject to regulation under the GCA. The ATF has long held that items such as receiver blanks, “castings” or “machined bodies” in which the fire-control cavity area is completely solid and un-machined have not reached the “stage of manufacture” which would result in the classification of a firearm per the GCA.
See comparison examples:
Receivers that meet the definition of a “firearm” must have markings, including a serial number. See 27 CFR § 478.92 (Firearm manufacturers marking requirements).
Because black powder firearms are considered antique firearms, the possession of a black powder firearm by a person subject to Federal firearms disabilities is not prohibited by the GCA. However, a person subject to Federal firearms disabilities may not receive and/or possess black powder firearms that can be readily converted to fire fixed ammunition by replacing the barrel, bolt, breechblock, or any combination thereof which are classified as “firearms.” Additionally, State law may prohibit the possession of a black powder firearm by persons who are not Federally prohibited from possessing them. Please contact your State Attorney General’s Office for information regarding black powder firearms.
Parts & Accessories – full payment at time of order.
Firearms – common items, $100 non refundable deposit
Firearms, NFA & Suppressors – uncommon items, full payment on order, no returns or cancellations
No returns on special order items.
Firearms – There are NO returns or refunds on firearms/ammo. All sales are FINAL.
Suppressors & SBRs – Non-refundable after order.
Magazines greater that 10 rounds are non returnable. No refunds or exchanges. All 10+ round magazines are final.
Parts & Accessories – 100% refund / credit with original receipt and undamaged packaging, unused condition for 30 days. If packaging is damaged or missing, the return is subject to a restocking fee or refusal, at manager’s discretion. Special orders are non refundable.
Transfer fees are non refundable, regardless of firearm disposition.
Concealed Carry Class- No refunds or credits if cancelled 7 days or less before the class/training.
Trusts – No refunds on trust packages once prepared, regardless of delivery. Missed signing/notary dates are subject to a $40 reprint/rework fee per missed appointment.
For denial refunds and process information, see the “Denials” section.
50% down and balance due within 60 days. Layaways are non refundable.Lay away terms
Personal firearms being carried into the store:
Upon entry, we will ask to inspect any firearm that is not immediately on your person. (carried, cased, bagged, boxed or otherwise). We encourage lawful and legal open or concealed carry in our store, we only ask that you do not handle, draw or present your carry weapon while on premises, this is hard rule with no exceptions other than lawful self defense.
Do not bring in ANY loaded firearm.
Do not bring in loose ammunition or loaded magazines in your weapon, range bag or elsewhere, do not remove backup magazines from your person.
We are happy to discuss your concerns, but the safety of clients and employees are of the utmost importance. Please respect our rules and then you won’t have to ring the dumbbell.
Please note, due to COVID, some agencies have changed their processes, check with the agency where you live or intend to apply.
Denied firearms transactions received from law enforcement agencies are provided with no explanation for the denial from the agency (NICS, or local law enforcement). We do not know, nor can we obtain the reason for the denial.
If you purchased the firearm from us, you will return to the store to receive paperwork for filing an appeal with the agency denying the transaction. We will refund you the purchase price less a $50 transaction fee. The refund must be made within 30 days of the notification of denial. After 90 days, the property is considered abandoned property, the item will be the property of Sporting Systems and the purchaser relinquishes all claims to the property or any refund.
If your appeal is successful, the $50 transaction fee will be reimbursed and applied only to a firearms purchase at Sporting Systems.
If the item is a transfer for a firearm the buyer will contact the original seller and arrange for shipping and a refund from that seller. You will return to the store to receive paperwork for filing an appeal with the agency denying the transaction. There is no refund of the $50 transfer fee. If the seller fails to provide return shipping and Sporting Systems arranges for return shipping, the buyer will be charged the actual shipping price plus 30%. If the seller fails to compete the return within 30 days, a storage fee will be applied to the item equal to $20 per month, non prorated. After 90 days, the property is considered abandoned property, the item will be the property of Sporting Systems and the purchaser relinquishes all claims to the property or any refund.
If you purchased the suppressor from us, you will return to the store to and we will refund you the purchase price less a $125 transaction fee. The refund must be made within 30 days of the notification of denial. After 90 days, the property is considered abandoned property, the item will be the property of Sporting Systems and the purchaser relinquishes all claims to the property or any refund. There are no appeals to the NFA on denied Form 4s.
Private Party Transfers – if a semi automatic rifle is transferred from a non resident of Washington, to a Washington resident and the Washington resident buyer is denied, we cannot, under state law return the semi automatic rifle to the non resident of Washington. The seller will have 30 days to arrange for a sale to a Washington resident. After 30 days, a storage fee will be applied to the item equal to $20 per month, non prorated. After 90 days, the property is considered abandoned property, the item will be the property of Sporting Systems and the purchaser relinquishes all claims to the property or any refund. There are no refunds on transfer fees, nor credits applied towards future purchases. We highly discourage these transfers from taking place at all, due to the complexity of state law.
Private Party Transfers – if a handgun is transferred from a non resident of Washington, to a Washington resident and the Washington resident buyer is denied, we cannot, under state law return the handgun to the non resident of Washington. The seller will have 30 days to arrange for a sale to a Washington resident or have the handgun returned to a an FFL/Dealer in their their state of residence. Any shipping and transfer fees incurred are payable by the seller to retrieve their firearm from the dealer in their state of residence. After 30 days, a storage fee will be applied to the item equal to $20 per month, non prorated. After 90 days, the property is considered abandoned property, the item will be the property of Sporting Systems and the purchaser relinquishes all claims to the property or any refund. We highly discourage these transfers from taking place at all, due to the complexity of state law. There are no refunds on transfer fees, nor credits applied towards future purchases